Cannes 2017: Ruben Östlund’s The Square wins the Palme d’Or


The Square has won the top prize of Palme d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival.

Ruben Östlund, the Swedish filmmaker behind the drama, previously also won the Jury Prize in the 2014 festival’s Un Certain Regard section for “Force Majeure.”

Dominic West, Elisabeth Moss and Claes Bang star in “The Square.”

Bang plays the curator of an art museum, who sets up “The Square,” an installation inviting passers-by to altruism.

But after he reacts foolishly to the theft of his phone, the respected father of two finds himself dragged into shameful situations.

There were also awards for Joaquin Phoenix and Diane Kruger, who were named best actor and best actress respectively, while a special new 70th Anniversary prize was awarded to actress Nicole Kidman.

As the extravaganza neared its end on Sunday, a line-up of some of the film world’s biggest names took to the red carpet at the Grand Theatre Lumiere.

Phoenix won best actor for his performance in the thriller You Were Never Really Here, while Kruger won best actress for her role in Fatih Akin’s In The Fade.

Kruger said: “We don’t make films for awards. It cost me a lot personally. Thank you very much.”

Sofia Coppola claimed the best director prize for her civil war drama remake The Beguiled and the Grand Prix honour was given to Robin Campillo’s 120 Beats Per Minute.


World News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here